Skip to content

New faces join Murray Irrigation Board

Ryan Gleeson, Noel Baxter and Steven Fawns have been elected to the Murray Irrigation Board of Directors.

The trio joins current directors Phil Snowden and Waander Van Beek on a restructured board that will be finalised with the further appointment of three independent directors.

Voting in the seven-candidate ballot closed at noon on Monday May 28. Close to 60 percent of eligible votes were received – an above average participation rate for the company. Of the 2,227 eligible votes, 1,263 ballot papers were returned, of which 1,256 were valid.

The directors-elect have a busy few weeks ahead of them. They will meet the chairman of the MDBA, Neil Andrew, over a working lunch in Deniliquin tomorrow.

Next week they will meet with a short list of non-executive (independent) director nominees, take a tour of major upgrade sites and receive a full briefing on upcoming board business; all of which forms part of a wellplanned transition program from the interim board.

The first official meeting of the board will be on Thursday June 7, where directors will elect a chair and deputy and resolve the make-up of specialist committees that cover customer services, government policy, finance and safety. Mr Gleeson and his family run a mixed farming operation near Wakool. He has experience as an accountant and business advisor, including work in London.

Mr Baxter operates a mixed irrigated farming business 10km north of Berrigan. He is a director of Baxter Family Farms which also operates irrigated properties in the West Corurgan, Coleambally and Murrumbidgee irrigation areas. Mr Fawns operates a mixed irrigation business east of Deniliquin. He is also a government-accredited safety assessor and owns a local business which provides high risk training and assessment to industry