Skip to content

Murray Irrigation appoints new Director

Murray Irrigation today announced the appointment of Ben Barlow as its new independent Director.

Mr Barlow’s appointment follows the departure of independent Directors Chris Badger, in March 2016, and Robyn Clubb following the 2015 AGM in November 2015.

In announcing the appointment of Mr Barlow, Murray Irrigation Chairman Mark Robertson said: “We are lucky to secure the services of a director of the calibre of Ben Barlow.

Ben’s leadership and governance skills and experience at a very senior executive level at one of Australia’s top listed companies will be greatly appreciated on the Murray Irrigation Board,” Mr Robertson said. “He brings a wealth of knowledge to Murray Irrigation, particularly in economics and agribusiness.

“The Board is looking forward to his valued input to bring a stronger commercial focus to Murray Irrigation.” Mr Barlow has a strong connection to both the agricultural industry, as well as the Riverina region in general. Currently residing in Corowa, he has past experience as a farmer and grazier at Hay.

He is also a Board member of the Local Land Services Western Division. Mr Barlow has significant connections to both equity and agribusiness, having held senior strategic and operational leadership positions with National Australia Bank – both in Australia and overseas.

He has completed a Bachelor of Economics and holds a master’s degree in Business (Agribusiness). He is also a Fellow of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation. Mr Barlow has also been appointed to Murray Irrigation’s Audit and Risk Management Committee. Mr Robertson confirmed that the search for a second independent Director was continuing.