Skip to content

Director ballot to open May 3

The ballot to elect three member directors of Murray Irrigation will open on Thursday May 3 and close on Monday May 28.

The ballot original target date of April 27 was moved as part of the company’s push to incorporate an ongoing program of governance and board reform, some aspects of which have taken longer to address than first envisaged.

The ballot will list seven candidates for whom votes must be received by the Australian Election Company by noon on Monday May 28.

The election will be conducted by the Australian Election Company of Brisbane after both the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) and NSW State Electoral Commission declined to quote for the task, citing their focus on government rather than fee-for-service opportunities.

The candidates, in ballot order are:

  • Ted Hatty
  • Ryan Gleeson
  • Noel Graham
  • Steven Fawns
  • Louis Kelly
  • Noel Baxter
  • John Bradford

Voters with outstanding Murray Irrigation accounts up to the December quarter will now be given until noon Monday (April 30) to ensure their accounts are up to date and that they are eligible to vote.

The ultimate composition of the board, which is expected to be finalised in June, will comprise five member directors and three independent directors.

Enquiries, including replacement ballot papers, should be directed to Wade Hadley (Australian Election Company) on 1800 224 420.