Skip to content

Announcement of leadership change to Murray Irrigation Board

In accepting the position, Mr Simpson, thanked Mr Robertson for his commitment and tireless efforts to lead the organisation through a challenging period of change, as Murray Irrigation looks to secure its long term financial future.

Mr Simpson said that Mr Robertson has been chair of Murray Irrigation since November 2015, and has been a long serving Board member since 2009. In addition to this role, he also holds a number of important leadership positions across the Southern New South Wales Riverina, including as a director of Ricegrowers’ Limited (trading as Sunrice).

Mr Simpson said, “given these responsibilities, along with the commitments involved in running his own farming business, Mr Robertson informed the Board of his desire to stand down from the role of Chair as he felt that he could no longer give the time and commitment he believed the position demanded. He will, however, continue on as a Director of the company.”

The Board of Murray Irrigation met on Thursday 11 May 2017 and unanimously voted to appoint Mr Simpson as Chair of Murray Irrigation Limited. Mr Simpson has been a Board Member since August 2012, and was previously the Chair between November 2013 and November 2015.

The Board also unanimously voted to appoint Mr Ben Barlow as Deputy Chair. Mr Barlow has been an independent Director of the Board since June 2016.

Mr Simpson said that in accepting the role of Chair, it was important to the Board that the transition of leadership was conducted as smoothly as possible, so as to maintain stability for the organisation, and its shareholders.

“Under Mr Robertson’s leadership, Murray Irrigation has made great progress in becoming a more customer focused, and more financially sustainable business. I want to assure our shareholders that it is my full intention to continue to deliver on this strategy, and that the Board looks forward to working with the management team to deliver further benefits.”

Mr Simpson’s term as Chair is effective immediately and will extend to Murray Irrigation’s next Annual General Meeting in November 2017.

At this point, those elected to the Board will determine both the Chair and Deputy Chair roles for the new term.

Mr Simpson said, “I know I speak on behalf of all Board members when I thank Mr Robertson for his invaluable contribution over many years, and I look forward to his continued support and counsel as we move forward.”